How Has Chief Justice Cantil-Sakauye Voted in Constitutional Law Cases?

Chief Justice Cantil-Sakauye has participated in 23 civil constitutional law cases since taking her seat in 2011, voting for defendants in only five cases while voting against defendants 18 times.  Between 2011 and 2016, the Chief Justice voted for defendants once while voting against defendants 10 times.  Between 2017 and 2019, the Chief Justice voted for defendants in four cases while voting against them eight times.

The Chief Justice has participated in thirteen civil constitutional law cases, voting to affirm in only three while voting to reverse ten times.  Between 2011 and 2018, the Chief Justice voted to reverse, at least in part, in nine straight civil constitutional law cases.

The Chief Justice has sat in only eight civil constitutional law cases lost by defendants below.  She has voted to reverse only once in those eight cases.

Join us back here next Thursday as we continue our review of the Justices’ voting records in constitutional law cases.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Alex Beattie (no changes).

How Has Justice Corrigan Voted in Constitutional Law Cases?

Since joining the Court in 2006, Justice Corrigan has participated in 47 civil constitutional law cases, supporting the defendants in 18 cases and the plaintiffs 29 times.  Between 2006 and 2010, she voted for defendants in 12 cases and for plaintiffs 10 times.  Since that time, Justice Corrigan has supported defendants in civil constitutional law cases only six times in 25 cases.

Justice Corrigan has participated in 25 civil constitutional law cases won by the defendant below, voting to affirm eight times and to reverse, at least in part, in 17 cases.  Between 2006 and 2010, Justice Corrigan voted to affirm five decisions won by the defendant below and to reverse seven times.  Between 2011 and 2018, Justice Corrigan voted to reverse in all nine civil constitutional law cases.  In 2019, she voted to affirm in three of four cases.

Justice Corrigan has participated in sixteen civil constitutional law cases won by the defendants below, voting to affirm five times and to reverse, at least in part, 11 times.  Justice Corrigan voted to affirm in four of ten cases between 2006 and 2016.  She voted to affirm only once in six cases between 2017 and 2019.

Join us back here next time as we continue our review of the Justices’ voting records in constitutional law cases.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Efrat Katz (no changes).

How Has Justice Chin Voted in Constitutional Law Cases?

Today, we begin our review of the individual Justices’ voting records in civil constitutional law cases.  During his tenure, Justice Chin has participated in 104 civil constitutional law cases, voting for defendants in 47 cases and against defendants 57 times.  Between 1996 and 1999, Justice Chin voted for defendants in six of 17 cases.  Justice Chin almost evenly split his votes in 52 cases between 2000 and 2009 voting for defendants in 30 cases and for plaintiffs in 29.  From 2010 to 2019, Justice Chin has voted for defendants 11 times in civil constitutional law cases and for plaintiffs 17 times.

Justice Chin has participated in 44 civil constitutional law cases won at the Court of Appeal by the defendant.  He has voted to affirm 18 times and to reverse in 26 cases.  He voted to affirm in two of five cases between 1996 and 1999.  Between 2000 and 2009, he voted to affirm defendants’ wins in 11 times and to reverse 14 times.  Between 2010 and 2019, he voted to affirm five times and voted to reverse in seven cases.

Justice Chin voted to reverse four of nine defendants’ losses between 1996 and 1999.  He voted to reverse sixteen of twenty-seven decisions between 2000 and 2009.  Between 2010 and 2010, he voted to reverse in only two of eleven cases.

Join us back here next Thursday as we continue our review of the Justices’ individual voting records.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Edward Rooks (no changes).

How Did Defendants Fare in Constitutional Law Cases Between 2010 and 2019?

Between 2010 and 2019, defendants in civil constitutional law case have won only 10 of 29 cases.  Defendants were 4-0 in 2010, but then lost 12 straight cases from 2011 to 2016.  Since 2017, defendants have won six and lost seven.

The Court has decided 11 civil constitutional law cases won by the defendants below.  The Supreme Court has affirmed in four while reversing, at least in part, seven times.  Defendants were 2-0 in 2010 but lost all seven cases from 2011 to 2018.  Defendants won both cases in 2019.

The Court has decided 13 civil constitutional law cases lost by defendants below.  The Court has reversed only three times, affirming in ten cases.  Between 2013 and 2018, the Court reversed only once in ten cases.

Join us back here tomorrow as we begin our review of the individual Justices’ voting records.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Ed Menendez (no changes).

How Have Defendants in Constitutional Law Cases Fared Since 1990 (Part 2 of 3)?

Last time, we reviewed the Court’s voting records for civil cases involving constitutional law issues between 1990 and 1999.  This time, we’re looking at the years 2000 through 2009.  Overall, defendants won 28 cases while losing 32.  Defendants were 9-6 for the years 2001-2002, but 4-6 in 2002 and 2-3 in both 2003 and 2004.  Defendants were 4-10 in 2006 and 2007 and split four decisions in 2008 and 2009.

Defendants had a rough time during these years defending Court of Appeal decisions they had won, winning only 10 cases while losing 15.  Defendants won 4 and lost 10 between 2003 and 2009.

Defendants fared better attacking Court of Appeal decisions they had lost, winning 17 cases while losing only 11.  Defendants were 5-2 in 2000 and 2001 and 9-5 between 2002 and 2005.

Join us back here next week as we review the results for the years 2010-2019 and begin our review of the Justices’ individual voting records.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Fancy Lady (no changes).

How Have Defendants in Constitutional Law Cases Fared Since 1990 (Part 1 of 3)?

Today, we’re taking up a new area of law in our examination of the Justices’ voting records – constitutional law.  Between 1990 and 1999, defendants in constitutional law cases won 25 cases and lost 36.  In 1991, defendants were 3-5.  They were 1-5 in 1993, 2-4 in 1994 and 5-14 from 1996 to 1999.

Defendants who won at the Court of Appeal fared poorly during these years, winning nine while losing 19 cases.  Defendants were 3-9 between 1991 and 1994 and 1-8 between 1996 and 1999.

Defendants challenging Court of Appeal losses fared better during these years, winning 14 cases and losing 14.  Defendants were 6-4 between 1990 and 1992, 4-5 from 1993 to 1995 and 4-5 from 1996 to 1999.

Join us back here tomorrow as we examine the data for the years 2000 to 2009.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Ed Bierman (no changes).

How Have Justices Kruger and Groban Voted in Tort Cases?

Today, we’re finishing our review of the individual Justices’ voting records in tort cases.

Justice Kruger has participated in 18 tort cases since taking her seat in 2015. She has voted for defendants in seven cases and for plaintiffs in eleven cases. In 2015 and 2016, she voted for plaintiffs in seven of eight cases.

Nine of those cases were won by the defendants at the Court of Appeal. Justice Kruger has voted to affirm four of those nine decisions and to reverse in five cases.

Eight of Justice Kruger’s tort cases were lost by the defendant below. Justice Kruger has voted to reverse three of those eight decisions.

Justice Groban has participated in only one tort case so far. He voted for the defendant’s position. That decision was won by the defendant at the Court of Appeal.

Join us back here next Thursday as we turn our attention to a new area of law.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Malcolm Carlaw (no changes).

How Has Justice Cuellar Voted in Tort Cases?

This week, we’re reviewing the voting records in tort cases of our final three Justices: Justices Cuellar, Kruger and Groban.

Justice Cuellar has participated in seventeen tort cases since taking his seat in 2015. He has voted for defendants in seven cases and for plaintiffs ten times. In 2015 and 2016, he supported tort plaintiffs in seven of eight cases. Since that time, he has supported defendants in six of nine cases.

Justice Cuellar has voted in nine tort cases won by the defendants at the Court of Appeal. He has voted for defendants in five of those nine cases.

Justice Cuellar has participated in eight tort cases lost by defendants at the Court of Appeal. In 2015 and 2016, he voted to reverse only once in six cases. Since that time, he has split his votes in two cases.

Join us back here tomorrow as we review the voting records of Justices Kruger and Groban.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Rennett Stowe (no changes).

How Has Justice Liu Voted in Tort Cases?

Justice Liu participated in 31 tort cases from 2012 to 2019. He voted for defendants in 12 of those cases and voted for plaintiffs in 19 cases.

The Court has decided 15 cases won by tort defendants at the Court of Appeal. He has voted to affirm seven of those decisions, voting to reverse, at least in part, eight times.

Justice Liu has participated in 15 tort cases lost by defendants at the Court of Appeal, voting to reverse in five cases and to affirm in ten. Between 2012 and 2015, he voted to reverse three defendants’ losses and to affirm five times. From 2016 to 2019, he voted to reverse two defendants’ losses and to affirm five times.

Join us back here next Thursday as we continue our analysis of the Justices’ voting records in tort cases.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Ken Lund (no changes).

How Has Chief Justice Cantil-Sakauye Voted in Tort Cases?

Chief Justice Cantil-Sakauye has participated in 36 tort cases since beginning her tenure, voting for defendants in 16 cases and for plaintiffs in 20 cases. Between 2011 and 2015, the Chief Justice voted for defendants in nine of twenty cases. In 2016, the Chief Justice voted for tort defendants in only one of seven cases. From 2017 to 2019, she voted for defendants in six of nine cases.

Between 2011 and 2015, the Chief Justice voted to affirm only two tort cases won by defendants at the Court of Appeal while voted to reverse six times. Since 2016, the Chief Justice has voted to affirm in four and nine defendants’ wins.

The Chief Justice has voted to reverse in 10 of 19 tort cases lost by defendants at the Court of Appeal. Between 2011 and 2015, she voted to reverse in 7 of 12 defense losses. Since 2016, she has voted to reverse three of seven tort defendants’ losses.

Join us back here tomorrow as we continue our analysis of the Justices’ individual voting records in tort cases.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Becky Matsubara (no changes).

LexBlog